United Nations Vienna

 

200720102012

 

Thanks to the father of one of the students of the 3AK (2006/07) we had the privilege to get a date for a tour of the Vienna International Center very quickly. Usually these tours are booked in advance quite a long time. This tour of the UN on March 28, 2007 was not only an interesting excursion in itself, it was also a good preparation for our visit to the UN Headquarters in New York in the course of our US project in April/May 2007.

The father of the student who had arranged everything welcomed us at the entrance and soon afterwards our tour guide arrived. First, we visited the UN Peace Bell in the courtyard of the building, then we followed our guide.

This young man was very effective. He not only gave the students a good survey of the huge number of members of the UN, he also offered a good introduction in the numerous tasks the UN has to carry out worldwide. 

Together with New York, Geneva and Nairobi, Vienna is an important headquarters for the UN. UNIDO, IAEA and UNODC are only some of the organizations which have got their main offices in Vienna.

We saw one of the meeting rooms, learned about the official languages used in UN meetings, the hard work of interpreters etc. etc. Apart from all the information offered, the young people also had several chances to ask questions and to contribute their own impressions and ideas of the work of a peace organization like the UN.

After having watched a movie on the work which had been carried out by UN representatives in 2006, we even got the chance to enjoy a wide variety of international food in the UN cafeteria. Finally, we passed the hundreds of flags hanging from the ceiling again, thanked for the hospitality and left. Now we are looking forward to our the visit of the UN Headquarters in New York!

The students of the 4BK (2010/11) had missed the opportunity to visit the UN headquarter in New York City in spring 2010. In order to make good for that, they could visit the Vienna International Center on October 13, 2010 ogether with the students of the focus subject Entrepreneurship.

As the group was rather big, we had two guides: one from France and the other one from the Democratic Republic of the Congo.
Due to the request of the youngsters, the guides held the tour in English. They informed us about the history of the building, the numerous conference rooms and the work of the interpreters as well as about the UN Organization, which are based in Vienna: UNIDO, IAEA, UNODC, CTBTO and UNOOSA.

All these organizations fulfil a number of very important tasks, from the promotion of the industrial development to the reduction of drugs and nuclear weapons and the exploration of the universe.
On April 20, 2012 the students of the der 1BL (2011/12) visited the Vienna International Center in the course of the partnership witht the Gimnazija Poljane (Ljubljana). As the Slovenian group arrived a lot earlier than the Austrian group, we could not - as planned - mix the students in the German and the English tour. Nevertheless, both groups had an excellent tour and learned a lot about the various tasks covered by the United Nations in Vienna.
 
Dr. Susanne Pratscher und Mag. Bettina Seidl

 

HomeEurope at SchoolInternational MeetingsPartnershipsEuropean ValuesEurope-Projects
Debate EuropePress ReleasesCompetitionsEducation in EuropeLearning ObjectsResources

Vereinte Nationen Wien

 

 

200720102012

 

Der Vater eines Schülers aus der 3AK (2006/07) ermöglichte uns auf unbürokratische Weise einen Besuch des Vienna International Center. Oft sind diese Führungen auf Wochen hinaus ausgebucht und man muss lange warten, bis man einen Termin bekommt. Diese Exkursion zur UNO am 28. März 2007 war nicht nur an sich interessant, sondern auch eine gute Vorbereitung auf die Exkursion ins UNO Hauptquartier in New York im Rahmen unseres USA Projektes im April/Mai 2007.

Der Vater des Schülers, der unseren Besuch arrangiert hatte, empfing uns schon beim Eingang, und bald darauf traf auch unser Führer ein. Zuerst besuchten wir die UNO Friedensglocke im Hof des UNO Gebäudes, dann folgten wir unserem Führer.

Dieser junge Mann war sehr effizient. Er lieferte den Schülerinnen und Schülern nicht nur einen guten Überblick über die riesige Anzahl von UNO-Mitgliedern, sondern bot auch eine gute Einführung in die vielfältigen Aufgaben, die die UNO weltweit erfüllen muss. 

Gemeinsam mit New York, Genf und Nairobi ist Wien ein wichtiger Standort für die UNO. UNIDO, IAEA und UNODC sind nur einige der Organisationen, die hier ihren Hauptsitz haben.

Wir sahen einen Tagungsraum, lernten einiges über die offiziellen UNO-Sprachen, die schwierige Arbeit der Dolmetscher etc. etc. Abgesehen von den gebotenen Informationen, bekamen die Jugendlichen auch ausreichend Gelegenheit, Fragen zu stellen, ihre eigenen Eindrücke zu artikulieren und ihre Ideen für die Arbeit einer Friedenorganisation wie der UNO einzubringen.

Nachdem wir einen Film über die Arbeit der UNO Vertreter in aller Welt im Jahr 2006 angesehen hatten, erhielten wir sogar Gelegenheit, in der Cafeteria der UNO zahlreiche internationale Speisen auszuprobieren. Schließlich gingen wir wieder unter den vielen Flaggen durch, die die Eingangshalle schmücken, bedankten uns für die Gastfreundschaft und verließen das Gebäude. Nun freuen wir uns schon auf den Besuch des UNO Hauptquartiers in New York!

Die Schülerinnen und Schüler der 4BK (2010/11) hatten im Frühjahr 2010 die Gelegenheit verpasst, das UN Hauptquartier in New York City zu besuchen. Als Ersatz konnten sie am 13. Oktober 2010, gemeinsam mit den Schülerinnen und Schülern des Ausbildungsschwerpunktes Entrepreneurship die Vienna International Center besuchen.

Da die Gruppe ziemlich groß war, hatten wir zwei Führer: aus Frankreich und aus der Demokratischen Republik Kongo.
Unsere Führer informierten uns - auf Wunsch der Jugendlichen in Englisch - über die Geschichte des Gebäudes, die vielen Konferenzräume und die Tätigkeit der Übersetzer bei Konferenzen und über eine Vielzahl von UN Organisationen, die in Wien ihren Sitz haben: UNIDO, IAEA, UNODC, CTBTO und UNOOSA.

Diese Organisationen erfüllen eine Vielzahl von wichtigen Aufgaben, von der Förderung der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung über die Reduzierung von Drogen und Atomwaffen bis zur Erforschung des Weltraums.
Am 20. April 2012 besuchten die Schüler/innen der 1BL (2011/12)im Rahmen der Partnerschaft mit dem Gimnazija Poljane (Ljubljana) das Vienna International Center. Da die slowenische Gruppe deutlich vor der österreichischen dort einlangte, konnten wir die deutsche und englische Führung nicht - wie beabsichtigt - mischen. Nichtsdestotrotz hatten beide Gruppen eine interessante Tour, auf der sie viel über die Tätigkeit der UNO dazu lernten.
 
© Dr. Susanne Pratscher und Mag. Bettina Seidl

 

Home

Europa in der Schule

Internationale Tagungen

Partnerschaften

Europäische Werte

Europa-Projekte

Europa-Debatte

Pressestimmen

Wettbewerbe

Bildung in Europa

Lerneinheiten

Ressourcen