Touring Exhibition

Europe - A Success Story with Prospect (2012) 

The EU-Touring Exhibition of the Österr. Gesellschaft für Europapolitik was displayed at the festival hall of the VBS-HAKII Hamerlingplatz and VBS-HAKIII Schönborngasse from January 23-February 3, 2012.

Again the students of numerous classes got the chance to collect lots of information about the EU for two weeks, and also to discuss Europe-related topics.

On January 26, 2012 the students of the 2AK, 3CK, 4AK and 1BL of the VBS Schönborngasse as well as guests from Germany, Belgium, Sweden and the United Kingdom, who visited our school in the course of the Comenius-Project Ecology and Everyday Life in Europe, participated in a panel discussion, which was moderated by Mag. Paul Schmidt, Secretary General of the Österreichische Gesellschaft für Europapolitik (see below).
A quiz helped the students test what they already know about the EU and also find out, in which fields they should probably improve their their knowledge.

3BL Gruppe 2
It also was an incentive for all visitors, to really study the posters and try to find as many answers as possible.

It was a pleasure to see, how quickly most of them found the answers, and how energetic the young people are, when they can show that they are able to deal with European affairs.

3AK

5AK

5BK

1BL
Dipl. KW Marion Obermayr, who works for the Österr. Gesellschaft für Europapolitik, and who coordinates the tour of the exhibiton around Austria, helped us invite three very competent and highly interesting guests to this debate: Mag. Paul Schmidt (Secretary General of the Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Europapolitik) moderated the panel discussion and also contributed a number of answers to the students' questions in the course of the debate.
Dr. Arad Benkö (Ambassador, who works for the Austrian Ministry for Foreign Affairs) was happy to answer questions about the structures and working processes within the EU, and Christian Keglovits  (European Centre for Renewable Energy Güssing) informed us thoroughly about the beginnings of the European Centre for Renewable Energy in Güssing and about the success of the project, which was started in the mid-1990ies. 

Considering, that the working language of the Comenius project is English and most of our guests did not speak German, the whole event was held in English.
It was a special pleasure for us, that also our Austrian students were not shy and posted a number of questions in the foreign language. The more they practice using a foreign language, the easier this will be for them later in their business careers..
Also the teachers of the partner schools contributed a number of good questions and arguments to the discussion, in the course of which it was highly interesting to compare the different viewpoints of the national groups. This international flair made the event especially lively and the 90 minutes passed by very quickly..

© Dr. Susanne Pratscher

HomeEurope at SchoolInternational MeetingsPartnershipsEuropean ValuesEurope-Projects
Debate EuropePress ReleasesCompetitionsEducation in EuropeLearning ObjectsResources

Wanderausstellung und Debatte

Die EU und Du - Eine Erfolgsgeschichte mit Zukunft (2012) 

Die EU-Wanderausstellung der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Europapolitik machte von 23. Jänner bis 3. Februar 2012 wieder Station im Festsaal der VBS-HAKII Hamerlingplatz und VBS-HAKIII Schönborngasse.

Wieder hatten die Schülerinnen und Schüler zahlreicher Klassen beider Schulen Gelegenheit, sich in diesen zwei Schulwochen über eine Vielfalt von Aufgaben und Dienstleistungen der EU näher zu informieren und kritisch darüber zu diskutieren.

Am 26. Jänner 2012 nahmen sowohl die Schülerinnen und Schüler der 2AK, 3CK, 4AK und 1BL der VBS Schönborngasse als auch Gäste aus Deutschland, Belgien, Schweden und dem Vereinigten Königreich, die im Rahmen des Comenius-Projektes Ökologie und Alltagsleben in Europa an der Schule zu Gast waren, an einer Podiumsdiskussion teil, die von Mag. Paul Schmidt, Generalsekretär der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Europapolitik, moderiert wurde (mehr dazu unten).
Ein Quiz, mit welchem die Jugendlichen wieder testen konnten, wie viel sie schon über die Europäische Union wissen und wo sie ihre Kenntnisse noch verbessern könnten,...

3BL Gruppe 2
... war für alle Besucherinnen und Besucher ein guter Anreiz, sich intensiv mit dem Inhalt der Tafeln auseinanderzusetzen und so viele Antworten wie möglich zu finden.

Es war ein Vergnügen mitzuerleben, wie flott das schon geht, und mit wieviel Elan sich die Jugend mit dem Thema auseinandersetzt.

3AK

5AK

5BK


1BL

Frau Dipl. KW Marion Obermayr von der Österr. Gesellschaft für Europapolitik, die die "Wanderung" der Ausstellung durch ganz Österreich koordiniert, hat uns geholfen, drei hochinteressante und sehr kompetente Gäste zu der Debatte ein zu laden: Mag. Paul Schmidt(Generalsekretär der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Europapolitik) moderierte die Podiumsdiskussion und ging im Verlauf der Debatte auch auf etliche Fragen der Jugendlichen ein.  
Dr. Arad Benkö (Gesandter aus dem Außenministerium) stand den Jugendlichen Rede und Antwort zu den Strukturen und Arbeitsprozessen in der EU und Herr Christian Keglovits  (Europäisches Zentrum für erneuerbare Energie Güssing) informierte uns eingehend über die Entstehung des EEE in Güssing und über die Erfolge, die dort seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre erzielt werden. 

Aus Rücksicht auf die Gäste aus dem Ausland wurden sowohl die Statements der Gäste auf dem Podium als auch der Vortrag über das EEE in englischer Sprache gehalten.
Besonders erfreulich war, dass auch die zahlreichen Fragen der österreichischen Schüler an die Gäste am Podium auf Englisch gestellt wurden. Je öfter und je ungezwungener die Jugendlichen die Fremdsprache einsetzen, desto leichter wird es ihnen später im Berufsleben einmal fallen.
Auch die Lehrer der Gastschulen beteiligten sich voller Elan an der Debatte. Im Verlauf der Diskussion war es interessant, die doch oft unterschiedlichen Standpunkte und Blickwinkel der verschiedenen Nationen zu sehen. Dieses internationale Flair machte die Veranstaltung noch lebendiger und ließ die ca. 90 Minuten im Flug vergehen.

 © Dr. Susanne Pratscher

HomeEuropa in der SchuleInternationale TagungenPartnerschaftenEuropäische WerteEuropa-Projekte
Europa-DebattePressestimmenWettbewerbeBildung in EuropaLerneinheitenRessourcen