Austria meets Belarus  

The Smorgon Experience 2010

 

Already in autumn 2009 Valdimir and I made plans to meet again in person. As the necessary financial resources were available, I decided to travel to Belarus at the beginning of the school year 2010/11, from September 13-19, 2010. Vladimir asked me to bring some information about: my own school, the Austrian school system, the ENIS network, European projects in general, and training firms in Austrian business schools.

 

Before travelling, I had to apply for a visa at the Belarusian embassy in Vienna. This visa was granted within a week, and on  September 13 I left from Vienna airport and arrived in Minsk after one and a half hours. There I was welcomed warmly by Vladimir, who had managed to get a car from the local educational authorities in Smorgon. Thanks to this generosity, we had not only a car but also a driver, who safely brought us to Smorgon in another one and a half hours.

 

After having checked in at the Hotel Smorgon and after having unpacked my luggage, we went to a very nice Belarusian restaurant, where we had Babka for dinner. 

 

On September 14 in the morning, Vladimir picked me up at the hotel. We first went to a bank, in order to exchange Euros into Belarusian Rubles, which cannot be bought in Austria, as the money must not be imported into Belarus or exported from there. The building of the bank itself is of some importance in Smorgon. During WW II, it was the place of the entrance into the Smorgon Ghetto. Therefore, we can now find a memorial here.

 

From the bank we continued our way ...

... to the Lenin Monument in front of the City Hall ...

... and to the 500 Years Anniversary Memorial of the city of Smorgon.
We then went to the Gymnasium N4, where I was heartily welcomed by Iryna Dureiko, the headmistress of the school. She gave me a lot of information about the Belarusian school system in general and about her school in particular. After having talked to her and Vladimir, who translated everything, for about half an hour, Iryna introduced my to her deputy Ludmila, who speaks perfect English and who took me around the building.
She explained to me, that the lower classes have their own classrooms, while the higher classes move from room to room while they are at school, according to their itinerary. In this case, the teachers stay in special rooms, like a maths room, a geography room etc.
Ludmila then introduced me to Julia, a student from the 11th grade, who had spent one school year in Germany. She speaks perfect German, and she gave me a very interesting tour of the Museum of the History of Smorgon, which was arranged by teachers of the school and is supervised by Larisa, a history teacher, who has already retired, but is still in charge of the museum. Part of the uniforms, which are exhibited here, were donated to the museum by Vladimir.
Now it was time for lunch, and Vladimir took me to a very nice state owned restaurant, where we had roasted pork with mashed potatoes and vegetables. It was not called Schnitzel, but it looked and tasted like Schnitzel.
In the afternoon, more than 70 teachers came together in the theater hall of the Gymnasium N4 to listen first to a presentation of a biology teacher called Irina, who had been elected teacher of the year and had got the opportunity to participate in an educational conference in Kazakhstan, where various possibilities for e-learning and cooperations between the countries of the CIS had been discussed.
Afterwards, I was invited to present some ideas for small as well as big Europe related projects to the colleagues. They also wanted to learn more about the Austrian school system and how we implement projects in our curriculum.

Registration House
After the presentations, Iryna Dureiko, the headmistress of Gymnasium N4, took us around town in her car. Our first destination was the so-called Registration House, a very interesting building, where not only the "zivile" wedding ceremonies are held, but also people have their new born babies registered. It is a brand new building, and we were informed, that it is the most beautiful Registration House of the Republic of Belarus.
Of course, many Belarusians - like people all over the world - also want to get married in a religious ceremony. The Russian Orthodox Cathedral is just opposite the Registration House. This was the next attraction we visited.

From here we walked across an beautiful park, which is home to a monument for the Belarusian author Francisak Bahusevic and to an amphitheater, to the Roman Catholic Cathedral, which was originally built as a Calvinist Church.

Orthodox Cathedral

Catholic Cathedral
There a young Salesian monk took us around, explained the various functions the church had had over the centuries, and
also showed us the Youth Center next to the church, where children can attend lessons of religious instruction, and where they can also meet for various spare time activities.

After having been brought back to the hotel by Iryna and Vladimir, I had some rest and was later picked up again by Vladimir, who took me out to dinner.
This time we had roasted pork with cheese, mashed potatoes and vegetables. The Belarusian cuisine is rich in potato recipes and all in all very delicious!

September 15
was a long and also very interesting day. Vladimir picked me up at the hotel in the morning, and we first went to the Gymnasium N4. In the garden next to the school, I could see the tree Vladimir and his students had planted in 2004 as a symbol of the friendship between our schools. It has grown very well!
At 10am we got on a bus together with 9 students from the 10th and 11th grade and with Galina, the teacher who organizes all the theater performances at the school. Our first destination was the Stalin Line, a very impressive open air museum near Zaslavl, 35km north of Minsk.
The whole Stalin Line, which ran from the Baltic to the Black Sea, consisted of 23 fortified zones. Four of them were located in today's Belarus, and the one near Zaslavl was restored and opened as a military museum in 2005.

The 9 students, who came with us, were very nice and well-behaved. Of course, they were a little bit shy to talk to a foreigner, but during the day they became more and more talkative. Especially one of them, Dima, had a wide range of questions for me. He wants to study economics after having graduated from the Gymnasium.

National Academic Bolshoi Ballet and Great Opera Theater
At noon time we arrived in Minsk, where we had about two hours to walk around. The youngsters were extremely interested in going to a McDonald's restaurant. But before, we passed by the National Academic Bolshoi Ballet and Great Opera Theater. Next to the Opera, we saw the monument of the author Maksim Bahdanovic.

We also visited the very impressive memorial to the soldiers who lost their lives in the Afghanistan War: the so-called Island of Tears.

After having had meat, mushrooms and carrots wrapped in a pancake in a tiny self-service restaurant, we walked back to the place, where our bus driver had dropped us off.

Island of Tears
From there we continued our way to the National Memorial Complex at Khatyn. The village of Khatyn , like more than 600 villages all over the Soviet Union, were burnt to the ground by soldiers of the Third Reich during WWII. More than 186 of them have disappeared from the map: they were never rebuilt.

The very impressive Memorial Complex at Khatyn, where we first could visit a small museum, stands as a remembrance for all the victims.
It is dominated by the 6m high sculpture The Unconquered Man, symbolizing the only adult survivor of the Khatyn massacre, the blacksmith Joseph Kaminsky: hours after the fire, he had found his badly wounded son, who died soon afterwards.

We arrived in Smorgon rather late, and together with Vladimir I had again a very delicious dinner, this time at a private restaurant: meat wrapped in potatoes, similar to what we call potato pancakes.
The next day, September 16, I was picked up by Vladimir at the hotel at 8.30. From here we walked to the Gymnasium N4. At 8.45 I was invited by two English teachers and their students of the 11th grade to talk to them. They all had a lot of questions about my school, the way we hold our lessons, how I liked Belarus and their home town etc. The time was far too short!
I spent the next lesson with 8 students of the 5th grade. Their English teacher Natalya practiced talking about travelling with them. They reported on their summer trips, they danced, played a travel game and defined the most important rules people should observe when travelling. We all had a lot of fun in this lesson.

At the end, Natalya encouraged her students to ask me some questions - and we had a very lively discussion about my favourite food, day, color etc. and about our two countries.
After a short break, I was invited by the English teachers of the Gymnasium N4 to stay with them for an hour. They had marvellously arranged tea and cakes in a classroom. It was very interesting for me to learn more about the projects carried out by these teachers and their students. Of course, they also wanted to hear more about my school.

At the end of this very interesting discussion, in which we could all learn from each other, Irina, a former student of the Gymnasium N4, who works as a journalist for a Smorgon newspaper, asked me some questions and took some photos. Here you can read her report.
I spent the last lesson of this morning with the biology teacher Irina and her students from the 7th grade in the school garden. She had prepared a very lively and active lessons for her students about trees, bushes and their seeds in the school garden. The class was divided in four groups. Each group had to mark their "territory", find at least four different kinds of trees or bushes, draw a map and collect samples of leaves and seeds.

Later they were invited by their teacher to present their findings to the whole class. Finally, they could prove in a short contest, what they had learned in this lesson.
Now it was time for lunch again. Valdimir and I went to the restaurant we had already visited two days before at noon. After lunch, we all had some time to rest. Vladimir picked me up again at the hotel at 4pm. Iryna Dureiko, the headmistress of Gymnasium N4, and Vladimir then took me to the countryside to a small village called Vojnidenjati, where Vicenci Mahnac runs an eco-farm.
On his premises, he has arranged eco-tourism facilities for guests. You can walk through the woods, collect mushrooms, ride a horse play some ball games, and finally also cook your own meal over open fire in a big tent. We did exactly this after having been taken around first by Vicenci's son Oleg and then by the father himself.
He knows a lot about his region and has a wide collection of photos in the tent.

In the attic of his house, Vicenci has arranged a nice little museum of farm equipments for producing milk, schnapps and flax. He collects these things in the villages of the Grodno region. Here we also met his two younger sons, and one of them, Sergej, explained some steps of the flax production to us.
While Iryna and Vicenci started preparing the barbecue in the tent, Valdimir and I walked to the nearby Vilnia River, which not only flows through Smorgon, but also through the village of Vojnidenjati.

Later, while we had a delicious dinner prepared by Iryna and roasted over the open fire, a thunderstorm brought some rain. Vicenci just closed the tent with some canvas and we could stay in there and wait until the weather had improved again.

Oginski Estate in Zalesye
The morning of September 17 brought bright sunshine and thus perfect weather conditions for another excursion. Iryna and Ludmila picked me up at the hotel at 9am and we drove to Zalesye, a tiny village not far from Smorgon, which is home to an old estate, which was owned by the diplomat and musician Michael Kleophas Oginski, the composer of the famous polonaise Farewell to the Fatherland.
Sergej, a painter and musician, who came to this place in 1989 and has organized a theater group for the students of the local school, explained the history of the estate and the life of Oginski to us. Sergej knows everthing about the estate, which would need renovation. The people, who use it for music and theater performances, hope very much, that UNESCO will declare the estate a cultural heritage site, when Oginski's 250th birthday is celebrated in 2015.

Sergej also took us around the park, and finally invited us to come into the Orangery of the building and listen to the polonaise, which he performed on the flute.
Back to Smorgon, we visited the Secondary Schools N5 and N7. Alena I. Montschak teaches German and English at the Secondary School N5. She has chosen a quotation from Leonardo da Vinci as the motto for her work: The only weak student is the one, who is unable to outperform his teacher.
She puts special stress on a mutual trust between teacher and student, because this is the key to the best results in learning and teaching. She always says, that being intelligent is not the only important quality for students. They still need the relevant support by the teacher, if they want to be successful.
Secondary School N7 was only opened in 2005. Alexander, the headmaster, welcomed us warmly.

He not only showed us the manifold sports facilities of the school, he also took us to the library and finally invited us to his office and treated us to some delicious sweets called Zephyr and some tea.

Gervjati Church
I had lunch with Valdimir, and in the afternoon, Iryna and Ludmila went on a second excursion with me. This time we took a road northwards, towards the Lithuanian border to the district of Astraviec.

In the village of Gervyati, we visited a very interesting church, where the renovation of the floor had just been finished, and afterwards also explored the local school. The headmistress there is a teacher of English and welcomed as warmly to her school.
Soon after having returned to Smorgon, I was picked up again by Vladimir, who invited me to his home. His wife Olga had prepared a delicious dinner for us, consisting of mixed Lithuanian salad and another Lithuanian speciality called Cepelinai.

I not only enjoyed the food, but also the company of Olga and Vladimir very much. The Belarusian hospitality is really exceptional. Although I had read about it before I travelled, I was nevertheless very much impressed, by how friendly I was welcomed by all my hosts.
In the morning of September 18, Iryna and Vladimir picked me up at the hotel at 8.15. We drove to the railway station, and there Vladimir and I took a train to Minsk.

One of the English teachers of Gymnasium N4 has a daughter, who works at the Hotel Planeta in Minsk. She had booked a room for me there, and after having checked in at the hotel, Vladimir and I started our sightseeing tour by walking to the Hotel Belarus.
This hotel is home to the Panorama Restaurant. From our table  on the 22nd floor we had a marvellous view of the city - and we also very much enjoyed our lunch.

Now we were well fed and ready for a city walking tour. First we walked to the banks of the Svislach River. On Nemiga Street we crossed the river and first visited the Cathedral of the Holy Spirit, a wonderful Orthodox church, which dates back to 1642.

From here, we continued our way to the Town Hall and the Catholic Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul. Walking down Lenin Street, we finally reached the famous Gum department store. There and at a book store nearby on Independence Avenue I bought some souvenirs.

On Independence Square, where the Belarusian State University is located, we had some rest and admired the new fountain dedicated to all 6 Belarusian regions as well as the Church of St. Simeon and St. Helena.

Minsk, Independence Square

Maxim Gorki Monument
We returned to Independence Avenue and walked eastwards to Gorky Park, past the Palace of the Republic, the President's Palace and the Museum of the Great Patriotic War. After having crossed the park, we reached Victory Square. But before we continued our sightseeing tour, we enjoyed tea and cakes in a very cosy coffee house next to the park entrance.

The Victory Monument in the centre of the square is highly impressive. From here we took the tube, which is called Metro in Minsk, as Vladimir had to return to the train station.
I accompanied him there, and after having said good bye to Vladimir, I took the Metro alone. At the railway station, the name of the Metro station is still Lenin Square, although the square itself has been re-named Independence Square. So you can imagine, that finding my way back by having to read everything in Belarusian, was a real challenge! At October Square I had to change to another line, in order to reach Nemiga Street. From there I could walk to the Hotel Planeta.
On September 19, after a delicious breakfast at the hotel, I went for a walk to get a little bit more acquainted with the most important sights of Minsk. The walk along the Svislach River was very refreshing. I also had the occasion to explore the Yanka Kupala Park, and on my way to the Victory Square I even found the house, where Lee Harvey Oswald had stayed while living in Minsk.
In the early afternoon, it was time to take a taxi to Minsk International Airport, which is located appr. 40km north of the city. I arrived safely at the airport and after a 90min flights arrived back home in Vienna.
  
Dr. Susanne Pratscher and Vladimir Kalinin

 

 

HomeEurope at SchoolInternational MeetingsPartnershipsEuropean ValuesEurope-Projects
Debate EuropePress ReleasesCompetitionsEducation in EuropeLearning ObjectsResources

Austria meets Belarus  

Entdeckungsreise nach Smorgon 2010

 

Schon im Herbst 2009 hatte ich gemeinsam mit Valdimir Pläne für ein Treffen entworfen. Da die Finanzierung gesichert war, beschloss ich, zu Beginn des Schuljahres 2010/11, von 13.-19. September 2010, nach Weißrussland zu fahren. Vladimir bat mich, Informationen über folgende Themen mitzubringen: meine Schule, das österreichische Schulsystem, das ENIS Netzwerk, Europaprojekte im allgemeinen und Übungsfirmen in den österreichischen berufsbildenden Schulen.

 

Um die Reise antreten zu können, musste ich bei der weißrussischen Botschaft in Wien ein Visum beantragen, welches ich innerhalb einer Woche ausgestellt bekam. So konnte ich am 13. September wie geplant aus Wien abreisen und erreichte nach 90 Minuten Flug Minsk. Dort wurde ich von Vladimir willkommen geheißen, dem es gelungen war, von der lokalen Schulbehörde in Smorgon einen Kleinbus samt Chauffeur zu organisieren. Die Fahrt dauerte ebenfalls eineinhalb Stunden.

 

Nachdem ich mein Zimmer im Hotel Smorgon bezogen hatte, machte ich erste Bekanntschaft mit der weißrussischen Küche: die sehr schmackhafte Speise, die wir in einem Restaurant einnahmen, hieß Babka

 

Am 14. September holte mich Vladimir in der Früh vom Hotel ab. Zuerst gingen wir zur bank, wo ich Euros in Weißrussische Rubel umwechselte. Die Währung ist in Österreich nicht erhältlich, weil sie weder ein- noch ausgeführt werden darf. Das Gebäude, in dem sich die Bank befindet, hat in Smorgon historische Bedeutung. Während des WK II befand sich hier der Eingang in das Ghetto von Smorgon. Daher gibt es auch eine Gedenktafel am Gebäude.

 

Von der Bank gingen wir weiter ...

... zum Lenin-Denkmal, das vor dem Rathaus steht, ...

... und zu dem Denkmal, welches anlässlich der 500-Jahr-Feier der Stadt Smorgon errichtet wurde.
Nun war es Zeit, ins Gymnasium N4 zu gehen, wo ich von Iryna Dureiko, der Direktorin, herzlich willkommen geheißen wurde. Sie informierte mich über das weißrussische Schulsystem im allegemeinen und über ihre Schule im besonderen. Nach diesem Gespräch, in welchem Vladimir unser Dolmetscher war, machte mich Iryna mit ihrer Stellvertreterin Ludmila bekannt, die perfekt Englisch spricht und mich durch das Schulhaus führte.
Sie erklärte mir, dass die jüngeren Schülerinnen und Schüler immer im gleichen Klassenraum unterrichtet werden, während die höheren Klassen je nach Stundenplan von Funktionsraum zu Funktionsraum wechseln. So wie in den USA bleibt dann der jeweilige Lehrer in seiner Klasse.
Ludmila machte mich schließlich mit Julia bekannt, einer Schülerin der 11. Klasse, die ein Jahr in Deutschland zur Schule gegangen ist und perfekt Deutsch spricht. Sie führte mich durch das in der Schule befindliche Museum, welches eine Vielzahl von Information über die Geschichte von Smorgon bietet und von Larisa, einer Geschichte-Professorin geleitet wird. Sie ist zwar schon in Pension, aber das Museum betreut sie mit viel Elan weiter. Einige der ausgestellten Uniformen hat Vladimir dem Museum zur Verfügung gestellt.
Nun war es Zeit fürs Mittagessen. Diesmal ging Vladimir mit mir in ein sehr hübsches staatliches Restaurant, wo wir gebratenes Schweinefleisch mit Kartoffelpüree und Gemüse bestellten. Was wir bekamen, hieß zwar nicht Schnitzel, sah aber genauso aus.
Am Nachmittag kamen mehr als 70 Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus allen Schulen der Stadt im Theatersaal des Gymnasium N4 zusammen, um zuerst einer weißrussischen Kollegin, Irina, zuzuhören und dann mir. Irina, die 2005 zur Lehrerin des Jahres gewählt worden war, hatte Gelegenheit gehabt, an einer Konferenz in Kasachstan teilzunehmen, bei der diverse Möglichkeiten des e-learnings und von Kooperationen mit Schulen in den Länder der GUS diskutiert worden waren.
Im Anschluss an Irinas Präsentation stellte ich den Kolleginnen und Kollegen eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten für Projekte vor, mit denen sie den Schülern Europa im Klassenzimmer näherbringen können. Weiters waren sie sehr daran interessiert, mehr über das österreichische Schulsystem zu erfahren und zu hören, wie wir Projekte in unseren Stundenplan einbauen.

Registrierungshaus
Nach den Präsentationen waren wir mit der Direktorin, Iryna Dureiko, in Smorgon unterwegs. Zuerst besuchten wir das sog. Registrierungshaus, ein sehr interessantes Gebäude, wo nicht nur die zivilen Trauungen stattfinden, sondern wo junge Eltern auch ihre neugeborenen Babies registrieren lassen. Die Direktorin dieses neuen Gebäudes informierte uns, dass es sich um das schönste seiner Art in Weißrussland handelt, und dass junge Paare aus dem ganzen Land sich hier trauen lassen.
Natürlich wollen viele Weißrussen - so wie Menschen überall auf der Welt - auch kirchlich heiraten. Die Russisch Orthodoxe Kathedrale ist gegenüber dem Registrierungshaus. Diese Kirche besuchten wir als nächstes.

Von hier konnten wir quer durch einen sehr schön angelegten Park, vorbei an einem Denkmal für den weißrussischen Schriftsteller Francisak Bahusevic und an einem Amphitheater, zur  Römisch-katholischen Kathedrale gehen, die ursprünglich als Calvinistische Kirche gebaut worden war.

Orthodoxe Kathedrale

Römisch-katholische Kathedrale
Eine junger Salesianer Mönch führte uns herum und erklärte uns, welch vielfältige Funktionen das Gebäude im Lauf der Jahrhunderte gehabt hat. Er zeigte uns auch das nebenan gelegene Jugendzentrum, wo Kinder und Jugendliche nicht nur den Religionsunterricht besuchen können, sondern auch zahlreiche Freizeitaktivitäten setzen können.

Schließlich brachten mich Iryna und Vladimir ins Hotel zurück. Später holte mich Vladimir wieder ab, und wir gingen zum Abendessen in ein nahe gelegenes Restaurant, wo wir gebratenes Schweinefleisch mit Käse überbacken, garniert mit Kartoffelpüree und Gemüse aßen.
Die weißrussische Küche ist reich an Kartoffelspeisen und sehr bekömmlich!

Der 15. September war ein langer aber auch sehr interessanter Tag. In der Früh holte mich Vladimir vom Hotel ab und wir gingen ins Gymnasium N4. Im Schulgarten konnte ich den Baum bewundern, den Vladimir 2004 mit seinen Schülerinnen und Schülern als Zeichen der Freundschaft zwischen unseren beiden Schulen gepflanzt hat. Er ist gut gewachsen!
Um 10 Uhr verließen wir gemeinsam mit 9 Schülerinnen und Schülern der 10. und 11. Klasse und mit Galina, der Kollegin, die mit den Jugendlichen Theateraufführungen einstudiert, die Schule. Unser erstes Ziel war das sehr eindrucksvolle Freilichtmuseum an der sog. Stalin-Linie in der Nähe von Zaslavl, 35km nördlich von Minsk.
Die Stalin Line, die von der Ostsee bis zum Schwarzen Meer verlief, bestand aus 23 befestigten Abschnitten. Vier davon befanden sich im heutigen Weißrussland, und der Abschnitt in der Nähe von Zaslavl wurde 2005 restauriert und als Militärmuseum eröffnet.

Die 9 Jugendlichen hießen mich herzlich in ihrem Kreis willkommen. Verständlicherweise waren sie anfangs ein bisschen scheu, aber das legte sich bald. Im Lauf des Tages, wurden sie immer gesprächiger. Einer von ihnen, Dima, hatte besonders viele Fragen an mich. Er möchte nach der Matura Wirtschaftswissenschaften studieren.

Staatsoper
Zu Mittag kamen wir in Minsk an, wo wir zwei Stunden Zeit hatten einen ersten Eindruck zu gewinnen. Die Jugendlichen waren besonders daran interessiert, zu McDonald's zu gehen. Auf dem Weg in die Stadt kamen wir an der Staatsoper vorbei. In der Nähe befindet sich auch das Denkmal für den Schriftsteller Maksim Bahdanovitsch.

Wir besuchten auch ein sehr eindrucksvolles Denkmal, das für die Soldaten errichtet wurde, die ihre Leben im Afghanistan-Krieg verloren haben: die sog. Insel der Tränen.

Nachdem wir in einem winzigen Self-Service-Restaurant eine Fleischtasche mit Pilzen und Karotten gegessen hatten, mussten wir zu der Stelle zurückkehren, wo der Busfahrer uns abgesetzt hatte.

Insel der Tränen
Wir setzten unsere Fahrt fort in Richtung Nordosten zur Nationalen Gedenkstätte von Chatyn. Das Dorf Chatyn wurde, so wie mehr als 600 weitere Dörfer in der Sowjetunion, während des WK II von Truppen des Dritten Reiches niedergebrannt. Mehr als 186 dieser Dörfer sind von der Lankarte verschwunden: sie wurden nie wieder aufgebaut.

Die sehr eindrucksvolle Gedenkstätte von Chatyn, wo wir zuerst ein kleines Museum besuchten, erinnert an alle Opfer dieser Gräueltaten.
Die Anlage wird beherrscht von der 6m hohen Skulptur Der unbesiegte Mann, die an den einzigen überlebenden Erwachsenen des Massakers von Chatyn, den Schmied Joseph Kaminsky, erinnert: Stunden nach dem Brand hatte er seinen schwer verwundeten Sohn in den Trümmern gefunden, der kurz danach starb.

Wir kamen ziemlich spät nach Smorgon zurück, und ich besuchte mit Vladimir wieder einmal ein privates Restaurant, wo wir ein köstliches Abendessen serviert bekamen: mit Fleisch gefüllte Kartoffelpuffer.
Am nächsten Tag, dem 16. September, holte mich Vladimir um 8.30 Uhr vom Hotel ab, von wo es nur ein kurzer Fußweg zum Gymnasium N4 war. Zwei Englisch-Lehrerinnen hatten mich eingeladen, um 8.45 in ihre Stunde zu kommen. Einige der Schüler der 11. Klasse kannte ich ja schon. Die Jugendlichen hatten eine Menge Fragen: über unsere Schule, über unseren Fremdsprachenunterricht, wie mir Weißrussland gefällt, was ich schon von Smorgon gesehen hatte u.v.m. Die Zeit war viel zu kurz!
Die nächste Stunde verbrachte ich mit Schülerinnen und Schülern der 5. Klasse. Ihre Englisch-Lehrerin, Natalya, übte mit ihnen Vokabeln und Redewendungen, die mit dem Thema "Reise" zu tun haben. Sie berichteten über Reisen, die sie im Sommer unternommen hatten und definierten die wichtigsten Regeln, die Reisende beachten sollten. Es war eine sehr unterhaltsame Stunde.

Zum Abschluss ermutigte Natalya ihre Schülerinnen und Schüler, mir Fragen zu stellen - und es entwickelte sich eine lebhafte Diskussion über mein Lieblingsessen, meine Lieblingsfarbe, meinen liebsten Wochentag etc. und über unsere beiden Heimatstädte.
Nach einer kurzen Pause hießen mich sämtliche Englisch-Lehrerinnen des Gymnasium N4 bei Tee und Kuchen willkommen. Sie hatten den Tisch sehr liebevoll gedeckt und selbst Kuchen gebacken. In lockerer Atmosphäre entwickelte sich ein interessantes Gespräch über internationale Projekte. Natürlich wollten die Kolleginnen auch mehr über meine Schule erfahren.

Schließlich wurde ich noch von einer Absolventin des Gymnasium N4, die jetzt Journalistin bei einer Smorgoner Zeitung ist, interviewt. Hier könnt ihr den Artikel lesen.
Die letzte Stunde dieses Vormittags verbrachten wir im Freien, mit der Biologielehrerin Irina und ihren Schülerinnenn und Schülern aus der 7. Klasse. Sie hatte eine sehr lebendige Stunde für den Schulgarten vorbereitet: die Jugendlichen lernten eine Menge über Büsche und Bäume - sowohl über die Blätter als auch über die Früchte. Die Klasse wurde in vier Gruppen aufgeteilt. Jede Gruppe musste ihr "Territorium" abstecken, eine Karte zeichnen und Blätter, Früchte und Samen sammeln.

Zum Abschluss konnten sie ihre Ergebnisse präsentieren und in einem kleinen Wettbewerb unter Beweis stellen, was sie gelenrt hatten.
Zu Mittag gingen Vladimir und ich in das staatliche Restaurant, wo wir zwei Tage zuvor schon einmal gewesen waren.

Nach dem Mittagessen hatten wir ein bisschen Zeit, uns auszurasten. Um 16 Uhr holten mich Vladimir und seine Direktorin Iryna Dureiko mit dem Auto ab. Wir fuhren aufs Land, in ein kleines Dorf nicht weit von Smorgon, das Vojnidenjati heißt und wo Vicenci Mahnach einen Ökö-Bauernhof betreibt.
Er bietet einiges an Attraktionen für Ökotouristen. Man kann sich ein Reitpferd ausleihen, Volleyball und Fußball spielen; kleine Kinder können schaukeln und in einem ziemlich großen Teich auch schwimmen lernen. Wer nach all dem Sport hungrig ist, kann in einem riesigen wetterfesten Zelt ein Lagerfeuer entfachen und sein Essen über dem offenen Feuer rösten. Genau das taten wir, nachdem zuerst Vicencis Sohn Oleg und dann der Vater selbst uns den Bauernhof gezeigt hatten.
Vincenci weiß sehr viel über die Region und hat in dem Zelt eine Vielzahl an Fotos gesammelt.

A Dachboden seines Hauses hat er ein interessantes kleines Museum eingerichtet, wo man zahlreiche bäuerliche Geräte besichtigen kann, die früher verwendet wurden, um Milch und Flachs zu verarbeiten und um Schnaps zu brennen. Vincenci findet immer wieder solch alte Gerätschaften in den Dörfern der Region Grodno. In dem kleinen Museum stießen auch noch zwei jüngere Buben zu uns, und einer davon, Sergej, erklärte uns die einzelnen Schritte der Flachsproduktion.
Während Iryna and Vicenci im Zelt im offenen Kamin das Feuer anzündeten, über dem später Huhn geröstet wurde, machten Valdimir und ich einen kleinen Spaziergang zum nach gelegenen Fluss Vilnia, der nicht nur durch Smorgon fließt, sondern auch durch das Dorf Vojnidenjati.

Später, während wir das leckere Abendessen genossen, das Iryna vorbereitet hatte, brach ein Gewitter los. Vicenci schloss den Zelteingang mit einer festen Plane, und wir konnten gemütlich sitzen bleiben und das Ende des Gewitters abwarten.

Oginski Landgut in Zalesye
Am 17. September in der Früh schien schon wieder die Sonne und wir hatten perfektes Wetter für eine weitere Exkursion. Um 9 Uhr holten mich Iryna und Ludmila vom Hotel ab und wir fuhren nach Zalesye: das ist eine kleine Ortschaft nicht weit von Smorgon, wo wir einen einst wunderschönen Landsitz besichtigten, der dringend renoviert gehört. Diese Gut gehörte dem Diplomaten und Musiker Michael Kleophas Oginski, der die berühmte Polonaise Ein Lebewohl dem Vaterland komponierte.
Sergej, ein Maler und Musiker, der 1989 hierher kam und eine Theatergruppe für die Schülerinnen und Schüler der örtlichen Schule ins Leben rief, informierte uns ausführlich über die Geschichte des Gebäudes und über Oginski. Sergej weiß alles über das Landgut. Jene, die es als Aufführungsort für Musikdarbietungen und Theatervorstellungen verwenden, hoffen, dass die UNESCO es anlässlich des 250. Geburtstages von Oginski im Jahr 2015 in die Kulturerbe-Liste aufnehmen wird.

Sergej zeigte uns auch den Park und lud uns zum Abschluss ein in die Orangerie des Gebäudes, wo er uns die Polonaise auf der Flöte vorspielte.
Zurück in Smorgon, besuchten wir die Sekundarschulen N5 und N7. In der Sekundarschule N5 unterrichtet Kollegin Alena I. Montschak Deutsch und Englisch. Sie ist hat sich einen Ausspruch von Leonardo da Vinci zum Motto für ihre Arbeit gewählt: Schwach ist jener Schüler, der den Lehrer nicht übertrifft.
Es ist ihr besonders wichtig, ein Vertrauensverhältnis zu den Schülerinnen und Schülern aufzubauen, denn nur so kann das bestmögliche Ergebnis beim Lernen erzielt werden. Sie betont, dass Klugheit allein beim Schüler nicht ausreicht. Erst die entsprechende Förderung durch die Lehrer führt zum Erfolg.
Die Sekundarschule N7 wurde erst 2005 eröffnet. Alexander, der Direktor, hieß uns herzlich willkommen.

Er zeigte es nicht nur die großzügigen Sportanlagen der Schule, sondern auch die sehr geräumige Bibliothek. Zum Abschluss lud er uns ein zu Tee und Süßigkeiten in seinem Büro. Hier lernte ich eine weitere weißrussische Spezialität kennen, die Zephyr genannt wird.

Kirche in Gervjati
Ich ging mit Valdimir mittagessen, und am Nachmittag unternahmen Iryna und Ludmila eine weitere Exkursion mit mir. Diesmal fuhren wir Richtung Norden in den Bezirk Astraviec, der an Litauen grenzt.

In dem Dorf Gervyati besuchten wir eine ziemlich große Kirche, in der gerade die Renovierung des Fußbodens abgeschlossen worden war, und nachher lernte ich die Dorfschule kennen. Die Direktorin unterrichtet selbst Englisch und hieß uns herzlich willkommen.
Kurz nach unserer Rückkehr nach Smorgon holte mich Vladimir vom Hotel ab. Seine Frau Olga hatte zu Hause ein köstliches Abendessen für uns vorbereitet: gemischten litauischen Salat und Cepelinai.

Ich genoss nicht nur das Essen sondern auch die Gesellschaft von Olga und Vladimir. Die weißrussische Gastfreundschaft ist außerordentlich. Obwohl ich vor meiner Abreise schon darüber gelesen hatte, war ich doch beeindruckt, mit wieviel Herzlichkeit ich von meinen Gastgebern empfangen wurde.
Am 18. September holten mich Iryna und Vladimir um 8.15 Uhr vom Hotel ab und wir fuhren zum Bahnhof, wo Vladimir und ich einen Zug nach Minsk nahmen.

Einer der Englisch-Lehrer des Gymnasium N4 hat eine Tochter, die im Hotel Planeta in Minsk arbeitet. Sie hatte für mich ein Zimmer gebucht, und nachdem wir dort angekommen waren, machten wir uns auf den Weg zum nahe gelegenen Hotel Belarus.
Dort gibt es im 22. Stock das Panorama Restaurant. Von unserem Tisch aus hatten wir einen tollen Ausblick auf die Stadt - und konnten auch noch ein wunderbares Mittagessen genießen.

Nach dem Essen waren wir frisch gestärkt für einen Stadtspaziergang. Wir gingen an der Swislatsch entlang, überquerten bei der Nemiga Straße den Fluss und besuchten die Kathedrale vom Heiligen Geist, eine prachtvolle orthodoxe Kirche aus dem Jahr 1642.

Gleich hinter der Kathedrale liegen das Rathaus und die katholische Peter und Paul Kathedrale. Wir marschierten die Lenin Straße entlang bis zum berühmten Kaufhaus Gum. Dort und in einem nahe gelegenen Buchladen an der Unabhängigkeitsstraße kaufte ich ein paar Souvenirs.

Am Unabhängigkeitsplatz, wo sich auch die Weißrussische Staatliche Universität befindet, legten wir eine Rast ein und bewunderten den neuen Brunnen, der allen 6 Regionen des Landes gewidmet ist; und wir besuchten die Kirche der Heiligen Simeon und Helena.

Minsk, Unabhängigkeitsplatz

Maxim Gorki Denkmal
Anschließend kehrten wir zurück auf die Unabhängigkeitsstraße und gingen Richtung Gorki Park, vorbei am Palast der Republik, am Präsidentenpalast und am Museum des WK II. Nachdem wir den Park durchquert hatten, erreichten wir den Siegesplatz. Wir unterbrachen unsere Besichtigungstour und gönnten uns Tee und Kuchen in einem sehr hübschen Kaffeehaus gleich beim Parkeingang.

Das Siegesmonument in der Mitte des Platzes ist sehr eindrucksvoll. Von hier nahmen wir die U-Bahn, die in Minsk Metro heißt, denn Vladimir musste zurück zum Bahnhof.
Ich begleitete ihn und fuhr dann vom Bahnhof allein zurück zum Hotel. Die Metrostation beim Bahnhof heißt immer noch Leninplatz, obwohl der Platz in Unabhängigkeitsplatz umbenannt wurde. Es war gar nicht so einfach, sich zurechtzufinden, da ja alles in kyrillischen Buchstaben angeschrieben ist! Am Oktoberpaltz stieg ich in eine andere Linie um und erreichte schließlich die Nemiga Straße, von wo aus ich zu Fuß weiterging zum Hotel Planeta.
Am 19. September unternahm ich nach einem köstlichen Frühstück im Hotel auf eigene Faust eine Erkundungstour durch Minsk. Der Spaziergang an der Swislatsch entlang war sehr erfrischend. Ich erforschte auch den Janka Kupala Park, und auf dem Weg zum Siegesplatz entdeckte ich das Haus, in dem Lee Harvey Oswald wohnte, als er in Minsk lebte.
Am frühen Nachmittag brachte mich ein Taxi zum Minsk International Airport, der ca. 40km nördlich der Stadt liegt. Nach 90 Min Flug kam ich wieder sicher in Wien an.
  
© Dr. Susanne Pratscher und Vladimir Kalinin

 

 

HomeEuropa in der SchuleInternationale TagungenPartnerschaftenEuropäische WerteEuropa-Projekte
Europa-DebattePressestimmenWettbewerbeBildung in EuropaLerneinheitenRessourcen